With the enactment of Constitutional Amendments 73 and 74, the Local Self-Government Institutions became the structural Local Governments. By Kerala Panchayat Raj Act in 1994, local bodies were transformed into strong administrative centers by decentralizing resources and responsibilities along with power. Today the Local Self Government system in the State of Kerala consists of 941 Grama Panchayats, 152 Block Panchayats, 14 District Panchayats, 87 Municipalities and 6 Corporations. The Local Self Government Department is responsible for coordinating the activities of these 1200 Local Bodies. The major departments under the Local Self Government Department are the Panchayat Department, Urban Affairs Department, Rural Development Department and Urban Village Planning Department.